Call for Nominations – Betty Jean Jones Award

To honor and remember Betty Jean Jones who was a highly respected and admired American Theatre and Drama teacher, the American Theatre and Drama Society accepts nominations each year for the Betty Jean Jones Award. Betty received her Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and, until her untimely death, was a professor at the University of Michigan. The award that bears her name honors individuals who have achieved excellence as college/university teachers and/or scholars, and have served as mentors in the profession.
Past honorees include:
Felicia Londre, 2011
John Frick, 2010
Elinor Fuchs, 2009
David Krasner, 2008
Jim Fisher, 2007
Christopher Bigsby, 2006
Harry Elam, 2006
Brooks McNamara, 2005
Marc Robinson, 2004
Barry Witham, 2003
Patti Gillespie, 2002
Linda Dorff, 2001
Esther Jackson, 2000
Don Wilmeth, 1999
Rosemarie Bank, 1998
Geri Maschio, 1997
The award is presented at the annual ATHE conference, this year to be held in Washington, 2-5 August. Nominations from students, colleagues, and other members of the academic community are welcomed each year.
Nominees must:
  • Have taught on the college level (either full or part time) for at least 10 years. These need not have been consecutive.
  • Have had an impact on students and the profession as a scholar, a teacher, an artist, and/or a mentor.
  • Nominees need not be members of either ATDS or ATHE, but the individual making the nomination must be a member of ATDS.
The ATDS member must submit a letter of nomination and no more than three supporting letters describing the nominee’s distinction by April 15, 2011 to Rosemarie Bank, chair of the Betty Jean Jones Award Committee for 2012. Email submissions with attachments are preferred, but you may also mail your nominations. The American Theatre and Drama Society will honor one person each year, but a nominee’s file will be considered in a subsequent year.
Contact Rosemarie Bank, electronically at, by mail to the School of Theatre and Dance, P.O. Box 5190, Kent State University, Kent, OH. 44242.

About Sarah Bay-Cheng

Professor of Theater at Bowdoin College. Co-host for the On TAP (Theatre and Performance Studies) podcast at Editor for the book series Avant-Gardes in Performance (Palgrave). Sporadically blogging about theatre, performance, and digital culture. twitter: @performaddict
This entry was posted in General Announcements. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s